Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


That’s what I’m calling it until I get a confirmed diagnosis. Whatever it is, it’s gross. My poor cocker spaniel has been battling this skin problem for over a year now. At one time it was all down his back and he had lost all the hair on his whole back until I could get that area better. Now it has moved to his chest and abdominal area and has caused a very severe bacteria infection in his ear. I took him to the vet a couple of weeks ago only to be told that skin problems are the hardest to diagnose because there is a long list of things it could be. We just have to go through the list and do a battery of tests and treatments until we figure out what works and that’s how we’ll determine the diagnosis. So now my husband has dubbed me the Enzo Doctor and I’m determined to get him better.

For now we are trying the least expensive problem it could be … Vitamin A-Responsive Dermatosis (a Vitamin A deficiency). UPDATE: I was also sent home with something to clear up his ear infection and that was gone within a week. However, I’m still working on his skin issue, but he looks like he feels so much better. I found a photo of another dog’s nose and it looks exactly like Enzo’s.

Hyperkeratosis

Hyperkeratosis – can be caused by vitamin A deficiency.

The down-sides with this treatment is that it takes 4-6 weeks before you even notice some recovery and up to 10 weeks for full recovery, and that it is a life-long problem. Fortunately, all we have to do is give him at least 20,000 IU capsules of Vitamin A with a fatty meal every day, which is relatively inexpensive. I really hope my boy gets better soon. I’ll update this post later with either a new treatment or photos of him all better.

Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.

