Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


A little back-story … we have our house listed for lease right now and recently lowered the price, which created a new buzz of interest. I was trying to test this recipe before I shared it so I had planned to make it on Tuesday night. I usually start making dinner around 4:30 or 5 so that everything will be ready before I start princess’s bedtime routine (which usually takes until around 7:30 to complete) so that I can go upstairs after I put her to bed and have my dinner with the husband. Well, at about 5 on Tuesday evening, the husband called to let me know that a showing was scheduled for 6. I had to stop what I was doing, put everything that I had just taken out to prepare dinner away, buzz around the house for a quick clean up for the showing, and get Ava and myself out of the house. Needless to say, I called in a pick-up order for Chinese take out that night. So I thought I’ll just cook it the following night … no big deal. Wednesday evening around 5, the husband calls again and tells me that a couple from Austin is driving in and they’ll be here between 6 and 8 for a showing. UGH … again. So, I put everything away again, clean up “Ava Zone”, and run upstairs to make the bed and do a quick spot clean in the master bathroom. About that time the husband comes home and we take princess for a walk to a restaurant a few blocks away to have our dinner out. Finally, as 5 o’clock approached last night, I begin to give my phone the evil eye as I take out all the items I’ll need to make this recipe … and it doesn’t ring. Thank goodness! So, after much anticipation, I finally got to make it last night and it was well worth the wait! It was so easy and delicious …

I got the recipe off of www.AllRecipes.com (with a little tweaking and additions of my own) and the inspiration for cooking it off of Pinterest. It’s called Meatloaf Muffins (I mistakenly called it Meatloaf Cupcakes last night in my tweet). One of the good things about cooking meatloaf in muffin tins is that IF there are any leftover, they are easy to freeze and reheat. You can make a big batch of this on a weekend and just take out what you want to eat during the weeks ahead for a quick reheat. I thought they would be really easy to feed to princess also since each one is such a small portion. The recipe was quick and easy to follow and the taste was so yummy. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Meatloaf Muffins

Prep Time: 10 Minutes
Cook Time: 1 Hour
Ready In: 1 Hour 10 Minutes
Servings: 11

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 pounds ground beef
1 egg
1 onion, chopped
1 cup milk
1 bell pepper, chopped (any color – I like the red or yellow for color and a little sweetness) – optional
1 cup dried bread crumbs
salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons prepared mustard
1/3 cup ketchup
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a large bowl, combine the beef, egg, onion, bell pepper, milk and bread OR cracker crumbs. Season with salt and pepper to taste and place in lightly greased muffin tins. Fill to the top as they will shrink very slightly.
3. In a separate small bowl, combine the brown sugar, mustard and ketchup. Mix well and spoon over each meatloaf. One spoonful should be enough and the you can use the back of the spoon to spread it evenly over the top.
4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 1 hour.
Meatloaf Muffins

Meatloaf Muffins

Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.

