Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I’ve posed an interesting suggestion/solution on my Facebook page for discussion and would like to bring it up here as well. Before I start I must say this first, I don’t want this to turn into a debate about gun control. I whole-heartedly support the sanctity of every American’s Civil Rights, including the Second Amendment. With that said, there’s no question in my mind that some weapons have no business being in the hands of the general public. However, if some psycho wants to walk into a school and start shooting the place up, he’ll find a way (legal or not) to get his hands on the weapons he wants. All that aside …

Last weekend over breakfast with family, the subject of the Sandy Hook Elementary School tragedy came up. My father-in-law posed what I thought was a very interesting suggestion/solution … maybe we should allow organized groups to be formed (made up of parents of students of the schools) to voluntarily undergo proper tactical security training and stand guard at the schools … sort of like a PTA, but for security. Of course, they’d have to go through background and psych evaluations … maybe the local police forces could voluntarily help oversee this. This would also take the pressure off some already thinly spread police forces. The group members would be allowed to carry holstered weapons, but again, they’d have to go through the proper training. Maybe the local police officers could also volunteer to help with training.

What are your thoughts?

Would you volunteer?

I’ve recently heard on the news that there have been an estimated 70 school shootings in the United States since the Gun-Free School Zones Act of 1995don’t you think that’s too many?

Just a few of the most notorious school shooters since 1995.

Just a few of the most notorious school shooters since 1995.

I am scared shitless of what the future holds for my baby girls. These are our schools … a safe place where we leave the safety of our children in someone else’s hands so that their minds and personalities can be molded and they can thrive into the adults we hope they will live to become. Don’t our children deserve a better solution?

Don’t forget to find me on FacebookTwitter, and Pinterest. Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.

