Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I know what you’re thinking … “That seems like a lot of work!” … and some of it is, but for the most part, it’s a lot easier than you would think. And once you try it and see how easy it is, it’s hard not to do it. And there are lots of other reasons why it’s a good idea, for instance the cost … I can buy 4 large avocados in a bag from Wal-Mart for $3.00 and turn it into about 30 meals for my baby. That comes to $0.01 per meal! I can’t think of anything else I can make for 1 penny that is so beneficial to her. I know what’s going into it … avocado & formula … that’s it. To me, it’s worth whatever work or time I put into it.

So I’m going to show you how easy this really is with the first recipe in my “How To Make Homemade Baby Food Series“, Avocado Baby Food. Here it goes …

PhotoGrid_1359137388618

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 4 Avocados
  • 3 – 5 ounces Formula or Breast Milk

Directions:

  1. Cut 2 – 4 avocados in half and remove the seeds. Spoon chunks of the meat into a food processor.
  2. Turn your food processor on low and slowly add formula or breast milk an ounce at a time until all of the meat of the avocados is chopped up. You want it to be very smooth (with no chunks, because your baby probably doesn’t have teeth yet so she won’t be able to chew any chunks … you don’t want this to be a choking hazard), but not runny.
  3. Because avocados oxidize pretty quickly, you want to freeze this mixture. I use ice trays because each ice cube hole is about an ounce, which will make measuring out your baby’s food later much easier. Spoon the food into each ice cube hole of the tray. In the photo above, I used 2 avocados and got most of the tray full.
  4. Place your tray into the freezer ASAP for at least 3 hours or until completely frozen through.
  5. After your baby food is frozen, you can then remove it from the trays by the cube and store it in the freezer in storage bowls or (I use) a large 40 gallon zip lock bag.
  6. When you are ready to use the baby food, just remove a cube (or 2, depending on how much you are feeding your baby) and place it in a feeding bowl, nuke it for about 30 seconds and VOILA, it’s that easy!

I got this recipe and many others from a website called Wholesome Baby Food. On it, they give you information on what ages it is safe to feed what foods to your baby, there is a list of forbidden foods for your baby, ideas on how to introduce solids to your baby, and tons of other great reasons to make your own baby food. Please take a moment to check it out if you can.

Stay tuned for more homemade baby food recipes in this series. Have fun with it. 🙂

2013-01-25_17-33-06_991

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog DirectoryPLEASE TAKE ONE SECOND TO VOTE FOR ME!!! All you need to do is click on the banner in the sidebar to the right to register a vote for me! You can vote one time every 24 hours from every computer and cell phone! THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!!! I really appreciate your support!

Don’t forget to find me on FacebookTwitter, and Pinterest. Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.

