Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


A little back story …

My littlest princess jerks in her sleep and wakes herself up (startle reflex). This is something she’s done since she was born. Initially, we swaddled her using this Swaddle Designs Swaddle Blanket. It worked great for a long time. Then as she got bigger, I started laying her on her tummy to sleep in her bassinet. My thought was that if she was laying on her tummy she didn’t jerk as much and therefore didn’t wake up as much. I am super afraid of SIDS, so I use an older model of the Angelcare Baby Movement and Sound Monitor to detect if she stopped breathing since I had her on her tummy. Then when it was time to start taking her night time feedings out of her feeding schedule, I still had issues with getting her to sleep through the night. My solution was to start swaddling her again, which meant she had to sleep on her back as well. She also had a congestion issue (since birth) that wasn’t clearing up, so my mother-in-law brought over a cool-mist humidifier and the congestion was cleared up within a couple of days. The humidifier also added some white-noise to the drown out any noise coming from anywhere else in the house and I really think that helped a lot too. I also, started using a pacifier, however, she would still wake up and want the pacifier in her mouth. Instead of getting up out of bed and going over to the bassinet to put the pacifier in her mouth several times during the night, I decided to move her in the bed with me (it’s a king size bed and I don’t move around the bed much so I wasn’t concerned about rolling over on her) so I could just reach over to replace the pacifier or soothe her by placing my hand on her tummy (that helped sometimes). As she’s gotten older (she just turned 6 months this past week), she is getting more active and mobile and has learned how to wiggle her way out of the swaddle blanket. In fact, in the past couple of weeks alone, she’s back to waking up at least 5 times a night because she wiggles her arms out of the swaddle and I have to rewrap her just about every hour after midnight or so. If it happens often enough, I get frustrated and then can’t go back to sleep.

One of several nights night last week I found myself awake and frustrated from about 2:30 a.m. until around 5:30 a.m. (she wakes up for her first bottle at 6 a.m.). Sleepless nights stink. I tossed and turned for the first part of the time brainstorming about a swaddle blanket I would create and sew myself that would keep her arms pinned to her sides. I even came up with a clever name for it. Finally I got up to see if there was already something on the market that might be close to what I was thinking of creating.

I came across The Woombie. It’s similar but not the same as what I was thinking about making. It actually seems safer than my creation as well. After reading through the website from top to bottom (viewing their demo video, analyzing the research they’ve already done, and absorbing the reasoning behind different aspects of their product), I’m strongly hoping this is exactly what Ainsley needs. I immediately (at 4:30 a.m.) fired over an email to their team via their website and explained my dilemma. Within a couple of days I received an email from someone on their team wishing me “Sweet Dreams” because they were sending Ainsley the Convertible Woombie (I asked for this one because she’s close to learning how to roll over and I want to be able to let her arms out when that happens so she can move herself with her arms and doesn’t get caught unable to breathe because something is in her way). Thank you Woombie Team!

We received it in the mail today and she’s resting peacefully right now! As I go to bed tonight, I am going to say a prayer that I’ve been praying for the past 6 months … that this is the miracle that keeps my baby asleep through the night. I’m going to give it 1 – 2 weeks and then I’ll write a review about it.

032613154801

So please come back and check it out then (I’ll link it up here as well when it’s done. Goodnight all. 🙂

Don’t forget to find me on FacebookTwitter, and Pinterest. Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.

