Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


When Ava started crawling around the floor more, I began to notice red bumps (sort of a rash) on the tops of her feet, fronts of her legs, and backs of her forearms (the places where her body touched the floor when she crawls). The only thing I could think of was that she was having a reaction to the cleaner I was using on the floor. So, I didn’t let her crawl on the floor until I could find a new floor cleaner that was more environmentally friendly. Meanwhile, the bumps started to go away. I never found any cleaner that I was comfortable with, so I decided to try to make my own. After finding lots of floor cleaner recipes all over the internet, this is what I came up with:

  • 1 cup white vinegar* (everything I read said that the vinegar smell is very overpowering so I thought it was best to use this amount as opposed to equal parts as some recipes called for)
  • 1/4 cup scented dishwashing liquid (this will help with the vinegar smell also, but beware that it doesn’t take much … you don’t want to have slippery floors that you just have to go over again with water to get it all up. FYI, I just bought the cheapest brand.)
  • 1 gallon water
  • A few of drops of your favorite essential oil (optional, I didn’t use this)

*You can experiment with this recipe … if you don’t mind the vinegar smell, add a 1/2 cup more until you’re satisfied, as the vinegar is the cleaning agent.

DIY Floor Cleaner

I have wood floors, so I use one of those spray & mop swiffer-type-mops that you can add your own cleaning agent to, shown in the photo (it also has a washable pad … most AWESOME invention ever and highly recommended for penny-pinchers), to avoid getting the wood too wet and ruining it. I have also used this on cement and tile floors and it works great. And best of all, Ava doesn’t have a rash from crawling around on my floors anymore! I suppose you could also use this stuff on the counters in a spray bottle as well.

Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.