Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Ava & I made it through our first full week of AIW² Home School Club with flying colors. I feel like she really enjoyed herself in her new classroom. She colored coloring pages everyday, which she is getting much better at with all the practice she is getting. I do have to admit that with each daily lesson, I did go on YouTube and found a short video or two that corresponded with that day’s lesson. For Instance, Monday requires that the weekly theme be introduced … last week was a  cow … I found a couple of cartoon videos that I showed her on Monday about cows. I don’t want to start putting her in front of the TV again, but she responds really well to videos with songs. That’s why I kept it to one or two short videos. I show them to her twice (once at the beginning of class, and once at the end of class) for the specific day they are required. Then I let the whole playlist loop and play in the background on the laptop so that she can hear the songs and music but  be working on something else (like a coloring page or practicing writing on the chalk board). That way during the day while we are doing things around the house (not in class), I can sing the songs to her and she kind of remembers some of the words.

Also, I don’t have any of the books that are in the book list that support the weekly themes. I did a search on YouTube and found a video of someone who narrated the book, so I included that in the playlist as well. I will probably do that every week.

You may choose not to use the videos as the original creator of this lesson plan did not. I just added them because I know Ava (being only 2 years old) responds well to them.

AIW² Home School Club Lesson 1.1 Video Playlist ~This is the whole week’s playlist. If you click on the YouTube icon at the bottom of the playing screen, you will be taken to the playlist on YouTube.com.

AIW² Home School Club Lesson 1.1 Coloring Pages

Just a note: These are the coloring pages I used. I either found them by following the links that Shelly had on her lesson plan or I Googled the subject and “coloring page”. You can do the same and find other pages for free if you don’t like the ones I’m including in this post.

Click this image to be taken to my board on Pinterest that contains all the cute crafts, activities, and printables to support this lesson (I add more as I find them so they are not all depicted in this image).

Below is a recommended reading list, provided by the creator of this lesson plan, as well as any resources that might be helpful to the lesson. You don’t need to order any of these items to have a successful lesson, but if you’d like to add to your child’s library … well, here they are. Click on the images to order directly from one of the most trusted online shopping websites, Amazon.com:

I hope these things help you. And I hope you will check back often to follow our journey.

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

PLEASE TAKE ONE SECOND TO VOTE FOR ME!!! All you need to do is click on the banner in the sidebar to the right to register a vote for me! You can vote one time every 24 hours from every computer and cell phone! THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!!! I really appreciate your support!

Don’t forget to find me on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. Until next time, this has been a real housewife in Houston moment.